Healing Calendula and Lavender Oil

006

What you need:
Carrier oil
Calendula oil
Lavender Flowers

It’s so easy to make, and great for your skin. In a large mouth Ball jar, add olive oil, or whatever carrier oil you like. I prefer jojoba, because I am a massage therapist and it is closest to our own natural oil, and I use it for massage.
Add, Calendula flowers, and lavender flowers.
Calendula flowers, and marigold flowers are NOT the same. Read about it here.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calendula_officinalis

005

Let the oil sit for a while. I usually let mine sit for 2 – 3 weeks in a window, being in the sun helps extract the goodness.
Don’t let it get too hot though, you don’t want the oil to become rancid. It will become a beautiful yellow color. After about 3-4 weeks, sift out the flowers and just put the oil in a jar. At this point, you can also add high-grade essential oils to it, such as roman chamomile (you can put those flowers in the oil as well) and lavender.

Store it a dark, cool place so that it doesn’t become rancid. (I keep mentioning this because it is a real bummer to spend all this time and then ruin your oil!!)

This oil is effective in treating eczema, rashes, itchy skin, ect. It can treat most skin problems. It can be used to make lip balm, or salves, or used plain in massage like I do. We just made a big batch at the apothecary where I work, so I wanted to also make a batch for myself since I do have eczema and itchy skin at home. I use it to make lip balm, lotion and salves. Also I love how it smells. 🙂

http://www.providenceapothecary.com/

I am sharing this for Wildcrafting Wednesday via Bella Vista Farm. Be sure to check out their blog too, (it’s AWESOME) and the others who have shared their blog today!!!
http://bellavistafarm.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/wildcrafting-wednesday-40/

http://mindbodyandsoleonline.com/herbal-information/120th-wildcrafting-wednesday/

”Wildcrafting

2 responses to “Healing Calendula and Lavender Oil

  1. Hmmmmm…I have loads of lavender flowers from a project that never happened. I am going to try this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

