DIY Placemats

010

I have been looking for nice place mats for my table for like a year. Not kidding. I can never find things I like, only things that I would settle for, and at $15 dollars a place mat times 6, I don’t want a “settle for”. I want something that is exactly what I want.

Then it occurred to me after shopping online, at Pier One, Hobby Lobby ect.. That I could just MAKE my own. Duh. Here I have this homesteading blog, and I am trying to buy place mats. So anyway, here’s how you make them. I’m NOT a seamstress, but I can sew a line (notice I didn’t say a straight line..) So don’t judge my rudimentary sewing skills. 🙂

The middle of this (I’m sorry I don’t remember what it’s called) is like a light batting with a heat activated (iron) adhesive. I’m not sure if I would buy that again, because I didn’t know it had this adhesive, and I am not sure how it will hold up in the dryer.

I bought this sewing machine for $15 on Craigslist 5 years ago. :)

I bought this sewing machine for $15 on Craigslist 5 years ago. 🙂

This is how you layer the 3 sheets of fabric so that the padding is in the middle when you turn it right-side-in. Yes, I learned this the hard way.

This is how you layer the 3 sheets of fabric so that the padding is in the middle when you turn it right-side-in. Yes, I learned this the hard way.

Pinned for sewing.

Pinned for sewing.

Sewing one side, leaving like a 1/4" and I had the needle to the right. Be sure to back-stitch the edges.

Sewing one side, leaving like a 1/4″ and I had the needle to the right. Be sure to backstitch the edges.

I sewed it shut. *sigh* I had to remove half the line with a seam ripper and turn it right-side-in. This was really annoying, so I stopped and started again the next day LOL SO> Make sure you leave about 6" open so that you can turn the place mat right-side-in. :D You're welcome.

I sewed it shut. *sigh* I had to remove half the line with a seam ripper and turn it right-side-in. This was really annoying, so I stopped and started again the next day LOL
SO> Make sure you leave about 6″ open so that you can turn the place mat right-side-in. 😀 You’re welcome.

Trim the edges so the corners aren't very bulky

Trim the edges so the corners aren’t very bulky

002

003

Iron your place mats, and sew a decorative seam around the edge.

Iron your place mats, and sew a decorative seam around the edge.

These placemats cost me $30.00 to make. Instead of $90.00 to buy what I didn’t like. I also bouught some Christmas fabric, to make some more for Christmas/winter.

3 responses to “DIY Placemats

      • ‘s OK – I know busy….
        Now that I’ve got a couple of other projects finished, I can get down to these. Right after I make those burp cloths for my little grand-boy!

Leave a Reply

