The Harvest

Carrots (yea they're small but they're danvers.) small onions, bell peppers, beets

Carrots (yea they’re small but they’re danvers.) small onions, bell peppers, beets

Cabbage, peas, green beans, and beets

Cabbage, peas, green beans, and beets

Pruning my tomatoes made them fruit like crazy

Pruning my tomatoes made them fruit like crazy

More tomatoes, supported witht he old pea trellis.

More tomatoes, supported witht he old pea trellis.

I harvested some veggies from my garden two days ago. Beets, onions, cabbage, carrots, bell pepper, some basil, and one green tomato (that fell off while I was staking them) that became a fried green tomato.

Not my best photos but my camera was gonna die. Why not charge it? Oh, because I am impatient and wanted to blog. Forgive me…

The beets got pickled. Now they are sitting in a jar of beautiful magenta sugar brine, waiting for winter.

A lot of them were small, probably due to the weird growing season and the race agains bolting. Most all of my root vegetables were small. That’s ok though. They are all still edible and having a garden we all know that sometimes we aren’t that lucky. Bugs, weather, or whatever the cause can create an outcome that is much worse. Last year the cabbage moths ate allllll my broccoli, cauliflower, brussell sprouts and cabbage. But I had never known this pest before. This year I used BT, a bacteria that is harmful to the bugs, safe for humans. The cabbage moths and worms didn’t stand a chance. My cabbages are stil growing.

The cabbage and carrots were so sweet and delicious, I made some of them into Bratwurst, Cabbage and Potatoes. http://thezenoptimist.com/2013/08/27/bratwurst-cabbage-and-potatoes/

The rest of the carrots and onions will be turned into Jalapenos en Escabache. http://thezenoptimist.com/2013/06/03/jalapenos-en-escabeche/

We love cabbage around here, and I am not making sauerkraut this year, so any cabbage suggestions are welcome!

Fall Garden
I planted some bunching green onion, turnips, potatoes, garlic chives, zucchini and some more lettuces. A little tiny black bug (well thousands of them) ate my kale. I planted some more.

I still have to harvest jalapenos, tomatoes, basil, habeneros, watermelons, cherry tomatoes and some more cabbage.

After the first or second frost I will be making spiced crab apple jelly, ad chokecherry jelly. I will post the recipes here on my blog.

I really like to pickle things in vinegar. If we have leftover store veggies in the fridge, I will pickle them. Sometimes I buy things in winter to pickle because I am out of vegetables from my garden.

One response to “The Harvest

Leave a Reply

