Tuna Gravy

Yea, I know, I need new placemats. But it is almost fall again...

Yea, I know, I need new placemats. But it is almost fall again…

I grew up eating tuna gravy. Most people wanna barf at the thought, but I promise you, it’s soooo good. When I first wanted to make it for my honey he was reluctant to the point of refusal, but I convinced him in the end. Now guess who asks me to make it on Sunday mornings? MM hm. You can make this with canned tuna, I only use white albacore, but my dad, who taught me this recipe could make it out of any tuna, or salmon.. ect.. This time I made it out of leftover tuna from this recipe http://thezenoptimist.com/2013/07/24/tuna-steaks-with-garden-peas-and-onion/

Tuna Gravy and Toast

Tuna (canned or cooked steaks)
5 TBSP butter
7 TBSP flour
2 cups of milk (or more if it gets too thick)
garlic powder
2 -3 TBSP pepper (yes you read that right)
salt to taste
1/2 cup sour cream

Cut up the tuna very small. (If you are using canned tuna drain it first.) Put all the butter and the tuna in a deep skillet and fry it until hot. add the flour. Cook the flour untill it starts to turn a little brown, you wil hardly be able to see it, so just watch the flour that sticks to the skillet. Add 2 cups of COLD milk to the tuna. Whisk untill the flour is well incorporated. If the gravy gets too thick, add some more milk. Add the seasonings. I like a lot of garlic powder, onion powder (which isn’t listed here but I like it) and pepper. The pepper makes the gravy so don’t reduce the amount. When it is done cooking, whisk in the sour cream. You can adapt this gravy to taste however you like it, but this is how I make it.

Serve over thick toasted sourdough slices, or bisquits, or bread you need to use up. Sometimes, we put a fried egg on top.

2 responses to “Tuna Gravy

  1. OK, so I’m not “barfing”, but my mind is boggling more than a little. I’d love to try this just to see what it’s like, but I reckon my family would be even more reluctant to try it than your guy was … It’s like a tuna béchamel, right? Intrigued 🙂

    • YES! haha! Think tuna helper, but with only the creamy delicious part. the creaminess takes the fishy flavor out of the tuna. If you make it, please tell me if you like it! 🙂

      PS.. You will.

Leave a Reply

