BBQ Brisket and Coleslaw

BBQ-Beef-Sandwich3

BBQ Brisket

1 large brisket
+
1 onion minced fine
1 tsp liquid smoke
1 TBSP paprika
1 TBSP garlic powder
1 TBSP salt
2 TBSP pepper
1 tsp cayenne
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup brown sugar
+
1 cup BBQ sauce – do not mix in wet rub, set aside for later.

Mix wet rub into a bowl and trim the brisket.

Coleslaw

1 bag coleslaw mix
or shredded cabbage
1/4 – 1/2 onion, shredded with juice
(just use the cheese grater, save the juice)
1 tsp pepper
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup sugar
4 – 6 TBSP rice or apple cider vinegar
1 cup mayo

After the brisket has been cooking for 8 hours, make the coleslaw. I don’t like it to sit too long, but a couple hours is perfect. Just mix all these ingredients together. It will be very bitey from the onion, if you don’t like that flavor, start with less onion. This coleslaw isn’t the thick mayo heavy one most people like, it is supposed to be light, sweet, and snappy to offset the brisket. It’s pretty delish.

Trim most of the excessive fat off the meat, don't worry there will be planty inside, too.

Trim most of the excessive fat off the meat, don’t worry there will be planty inside, too.

Trimmed

Trimmed

Put together all ingredients of the wet rub, and rub all over the meat. cook on 250 for 8 - 12 hours

Put together all ingredients of the wet rub, and rub all over the meat. cook on 250 for 8 – 12 hours

Shred meat and drain the fat off the top. Brisket will have a lot of fat. I throw all of it out and only keep the juice underneath.

Shred meat and drain the fat off the top. Brisket will have a lot of fat. I throw all of it out and only keep the juice underneath.

Transfer to a pot and put in the BBQ sauce. I use Sweet Babby Ray's or make my own.

Transfer to a pot and put in the BBQ sauce. I use Sweet Baby Ray’s or make my own.

7 responses to “BBQ Brisket and Coleslaw

  1. I used a 4 lb brisket and 250 for 8 hours was way too long. It was burnt to a crisp by 7 hours! What size brisket does this recipe call for? My oven might run a little hot but unfortunately this was significantly off.

    • Yikes! Well, I used a roaster, not an oven. I also use a smaller brisket than 4 lbs, so I am not sure what happened. You could try (if you want to cook it again) to cook it at 200 degrees. The reason that the time is 8 – 12 hours, is because sometimes, even at 250 the roast isn’t done enough.

  2. i just made this using a marinating flank steak. I read somewhere that a brisket and a flank are basicaly the same thing. I just shredded it and it’s sitting in all the juices. Haven’t added the bbq sauce yet. And I don’t think I need to. I also made the coleslaw. Planning on serving this for dinner for 4 adults and 2 kids, with some fries. Hope it ends up being enough….the flank steak wasn’t that big to start with…and unless I stop picking at it to taste it….well I hope everyone else likes it. I’ve never cooked a brisket or a flank before. Just picked it up on the reduced for quick sale ….my favorite meat section.

    • Hi! Great! let me know if you like the flavor and how it turned out. Another person said my directions were way off, and that using a 4lb brisket at 250 for 8 hours it was burnt to a crisp. Please let me know if I need to make any adjustments!

  3. Pingback: National Brisket Day - donnahup.com·

Leave a Reply

