Garden and Tomato Pruning

Hi all!

I haven’t blogged in a while because I have been on vacation in Thailand. Actually I was working, but in my mind I was in Thailand, sitting on the beach…

Here is an update on my garden, and some more instructions on how to prune your tomatoes. With pics. Any questions, just ask!

069

unpruned

unpruned

peas, leeks, brussell sprouts, cabbage, garlic, heirloom tomatoes and beets.

peas, leeks, brussell sprouts, cabbage, garlic, heirloom tomatoes and beets.

Carrots on the left, herbs on the right. More basil. I have a LOT. :)

Carrots on the left, herbs on the right. More basil. I have a LOT. 🙂

Watermelons in pots? I'm trying it!

Watermelons in pots? I’m trying it!

I transplanted all my peppers into buckets (cheaper than pots) now they are doing great.

I transplanted all my peppers into buckets (cheaper than pots) now they are doing great.

The crazy wind in ND made my sprouts grow this way. Heavy rain and wind kept them this way. *shrug*

The crazy wind in ND made my sprouts grow this way. Heavy rain and wind kept them this way. *shrug*

A beautiful butterfly! No, it's my nemesis, the cabbage moth.

A beautiful butterfly! No, it’s my nemesis, the cabbage moth.

The bottom is all unpruned.

The bottom is all unpruned.

This is after I pruned it.

This is after I pruned it.

A sucker I obviously didn't see last week, they grow very fast, which demostrates how much energy they take from your plant producing fruit.

A sucker I obviously didn’t see last week, they grow very fast, which demostrates how much energy they take from your plant producing fruit.

When the suckers are close to the top, leave them, you will have a very high yield of fruit.

When the suckers are close to the top, leave them, you will have a very high yield of fruit.

These thick papery leaves all get cut off. The do nothing but direct energy to the bottom of the plant, making themselves get bigger, but do not bear fruit. Cut them off at the base.

These thick papery leaves all get cut off. The do nothing but direct energy to the bottom of the plant, making themselves get bigger, but do not bear fruit. Cut them off at the base.

The really fuzzy leaves and bunches result in flowers/tomatoes. Leave them , too.

The really fuzzy leaves and bunches result in flowers/tomatoes. Leave them , too.

This is a good sucker, leave it there.

This is a good sucker, leave it there.

Pruned. Now they get to grow however they want for the rest of the season.

Pruned. Now they get to grow however they want for the rest of the season.

Kale, kohlrabi, mixed greens, spinach, dll and bibb lettuce, growing well after I pinched the flowers off early enough.

Kale, kohlrabi, mixed greens, spinach, dll and bibb lettuce, growing well after I pinched the flowers off early enough.

Basil and bell peppers

Basil and bell peppers

This post was shared on the blog hop.
http://bellavistafarm.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/wildcrafting-wednesday-19/

2 responses to “Garden and Tomato Pruning

  1. I did this earlier this summer without having read your blog. I want your readers to know this works wonders. I have barrels of toms on my plants!

Leave a Reply

