Jalapenos en Escabeche

305054_10150300445042752_1495400451_n

I will be making this the for the next few days. A lot of people ask me for this recipe, so I am going to reblog it.

Jalapenos en escabeche is an acidic and spicy carrot, jalapeno, onion, garlic and oregano topping for anything from enchiladas to open-faced sandwiches.

I like to make escabeche out of Garden vegetable leftovers or leftover carrots and jalapenos in the fridge. Here's how I do it.

I never like to put specific amounts in anything, I just make it how I like it. Sometimes I use serranos, sometimes I put more carrot, it just depends on my mood, but I love this recipe because I can it, I always have some around.

You can adjust the amounts of whatever vegetable, but do not adjust the vinegar to water ratio. If it's wrong your escabeche will taste bland and also it won't can properly.

It doesn't matter what size the jar is, (unless it's like a gallon, then use a little more water) only use 1 tsp water per jar.

Jalapenos Escabeche

1 LB jalapeno rings sliced a little thick
2 onions diced large
3 or 4 carrots sliced (the same size as the jalapenos)
garlic cloves in paper
thyme sprigs, optional
oregano
olive oil
salt
cayenne (optional)
White vinegar
Filtered water

On medium heat, put the olive oil in the skillet. Don't use a non-stick spray or any unnatural oil. I only use olive oil when I make this. Put the carrots and the jalapenos in the skillet, (I leave the seeds in mine) add the salt and cook them on medium heat until they start to get very soft. You want them to be cooked pretty well before canning them. Add the onions, the garlic, (skin still on), the thyme, and the oregano. Cook until the onions are almost soft. You want them to have some texture so don't over cook them.

In a large saucepan, pour between 2 and 6 cups of vinegar and bring to a low boil. Add to it a pinch of salt.

When the vegetables are soft, turn off the heat. Put into prepared canning jars. You can peel the garlic out of its skin, but I always leave it on. It should be a bit oily. If you want it extra spicy, put a pinch of cayenne on top. Pour vinegar into the jars and add 1 tsp water. Apply lids and rings. Shake them. Give them a water bath for about 5 or 7 minutes.

If you like the flavor but it is too spicy, omit cayenne and be sure to seed the jalapenos or use a milder pepper.

Much Love!!
Kerie

3 responses to “Jalapenos en Escabeche

Leave a Reply

