Grilled Steak, Corn and Asparagus

020

Summah.

It’s still pretty cold here, but since it’s almost June, I can pretend it’s summer, can’t I? When is it ever gonna be summer? *crying*

We bought a new grill this month, since our old one had become mangled in a wind storm. Now we can’t stop grilling. So here’s a couple simple, dinner recipes, plus a few marinades at the bottom.

Grilled Corn

Peel the corn husk back a little and check the kernels. If they are fat, that’s the one you want.
Cut 1 inch off the top of the husk, it will cut off the tip of the corn, too.

023<

Let is soak while you marinate your asparagus and meat (I like my meat marinated. If you don't, that's cool.)
Put the corn on the grill first, we cook our at about 400 degrees F, for like 15 or 20 minutes.

Put around the outside edge of the grill, where it isn't getting direct flame.

Grill for 20 minutes, then take it off. Leave the husks on until you are ready to eat them, because this keeps them warm longer.

Sometimes we char ours a little more, but this is how we wanted it tonight :)

Sometimes we char ours a little more, but this is how we wanted it tonight 🙂

Ribeyes w/ Carmelized Mushrooms and Onions

Next my hunney throws the steaks on, and I think he cooks them four minutes a side. We all like our meat medium rare to medium well, Except my daughter, who like her steak rare. He only flips them once. Then we cover them in foil and let them rest on the counter while we finish up, I only uncovered them for this pic 🙂
I am no expert on cooking steaks since I was a vegan for 10 years, but I know this, I used to like mine burnt, and it tastes much better when it isn’t reduced to a hockey puck. I also know that purists never marinate or tenderize their meat. *shrug*
Life is too short for such rules.

steaks

steaks

My daughter is very picky about her steak and really, like I said, it MUST be rare. She does love some sauteed mushrooms and onions on it. I start this before anything else.

Sauteed Mushrooms and Onions
1 sweet onion
1/2 box baby bellas (or whatever shroom you like)
1 tbsp butter
1 tbspn worchestershire
1 tsp salt

first slice the onion thin and cook it in the butter, sprinkle half your amount of salt. Reduce them until thay are wet and carmelized. Add mushrooms, remaining salt and worchestershire. reduce shrooms, on med low heat.

024

027

My daughters steak, with mushrooms and onions.

My daughters steak, with mushrooms and onions.

&

Grilled Asparagus
Cut the woody end off of the asparagus and put them in a small casserole dish, or a dish capable of holding them and the dressing.
Usually I only use fresh lime juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. The amounts are up to you. You can also use italian dressing. You can also sub balsamic vinegar for the lime juice. It’s delish.

022

Cook them for 4 or 5 minutes ONLY. (while the steaks rest) If you cook them too long, they get mushy and stringy and nasty. Trust me.

029

I hope you enjoy!

031

Marinade #1

1 TBSP Each Steak
Worchestershire
garlic (fine chopped)
coarse ground pepper
salt
balsamic vinegar
olive oil

Marinade #2

1 TBSP garlic (fine chopped)
1 TBSP pepper
1 TBSP salt
Splash olive oil
I Beer Your choice
Juice from 1 lime

Mix whichever marinade you like into a ziplock bag and zip it, it doesn’t have to be tight for this step since we are just mixing it in. massage the marinade into the meat with your fingers thru the bag. then open it, press out all the air, seal it tight, and leave it out on the counter, to become room temp before cooking.

Leave a Reply

